News RSS

GreenImpact Awards 2015

GreenImpact Gold and Silver

The University’ Green Impact awards ceremony was held on Wednesday 17 June, and Materials achieved two awards; Silver for the Department and Gold for the Labs! We were one of two Departments within the entire scheme to be presented with two awards, so this is a huge achievement!


Advanced Materials for Solar Energy Conversion (AMSEC)

The Materials Modelling and Design group has been granted more than 16M CPU-hours direct access to the UK's national supercomputing facility ARCHER to accelerate the development of record-breaking perovskite-based photovoltaic devices.

Cyrille van Effenterre

Visit by Counsellor of the French Embassy

Cyrille van Effenterre, the Counsellor of the French Embassy, Science and Technology, accompanied by Anne Simonin, the Head of "Maison Française d’Oxford", visited the Department on  Friday, 6 March. He attended the weekly meeting of the “Materials for Fusion and Fission Power” group, and gave  a presentation about the activities of the Embassy in the science and technology area.