Location and Opening

The Library is located on the first floor in the Hume-Rothery Building. It consists of three rooms and an office (floorplan) The room on the left of the entrance, the Book Room, is the lending area which contains textbooks, theses, conference proceedings and reference books. Current issues of journals are displayed in the Journal Room on the right, which also holds back issues and bound volumes. The third room is located off the cental staircase and contains mainly discontinued journals.

The Library Office houses a reference collection of recommended undergraduate textbooks. These can only be accessed in the afternoons when the Librarian is on duty. However, staff members with a key to the building can access them at any time.

Admission

The Library is open to members and visitors of the Department of Materials. Readers from other University departments may also register as external borrowers.

It is very important that all new readers register with the Librarian. A current university card is required for registering.

Opening times

Any member of the Department of Materials with access to the Hume-Rothery Building is able to use the Library at any time. However the libararian only works limited hours as below.

During Term time the Librarian is on duty in the Library Office
Monday 10.30 - 2:30 and Tuesday - Thursday 1:30 - 3:30

If students need access to the locked librarian's office in an EMERGENCY, the following people may be able to let you in or assist you: Rebecca Bradford - reception, Debbie Townsend - reception. Please note that every effort should be made to go to the library in the advertised times. In an emergency we will try to accommodate students but this may not always be possible.

Vacation opening hours

Mrs Grace Sewell will be available for consultation in the Library during the following days/times:

  

Monday 5 September                     9:30 – 13:30

Tuesday 6 September                      13:15 – 15:15

Thursday 8 September                     13:15 – 15:15

 

Monday 12 September                   9:30 – 13:30

Tuesday 13 September                   13:15 – 15:15

Thursday 14 September                  13:15 – 15:15

 

Wednesday 21 September            13:15 – 15:15

Thursday 22 September                  13:15 – 15:15

 

Monday 26 September                   9:00 – 13:00 & 13:30 – 15:30

Tuesday 27 September                   13:15 – 15:15

Thursday 29 September                  13:15 – 15:15

 

Monday 3 October                           10:00 – 13:00

Tuesday 4 October                           13:00 – 16:00

Wednesday 5 October                   13:15 – 15:15

Thursday 6 October                          13:15 – 15:15