Faculty of Materials

Membership | Terms of Reference | Functions | Conflict of Interest | Minutes of Meetings

Faculty as at January 2017

Membership (Congregation and Faculty membership from Registrar)

Ex officio members:

Prof. D.E.J. Armstrong
Prof. H.E. Assender
Dr. J. Barnes
Prof. S.C. Benjamin
Prof. H. Bhaskaran
Dr. K. Borisenko
Prof. G.A.D. Briggs
Prof. Sir Richard Brook+
Prof. P.G. Bruce
Prof. M.R. Castell
Prof. J.T. Czernuszka
Prof. M.L. Galano
Prof. F. Giustino
Prof. P.S. Grant
Prof. N. Grobert
Prof. C.R.M. Grovenor
Prof. Sir Peter Hirsch+

Dr. J.L. Hutchison+
Dr. J.S. Kim
Prof. A.I. Kirkland
Prof. S. Lozano-Perez
Prof. T.J. Marrow
Dr. J.W. Martin+
Prof. M.P. Moody
Prof. P.D. Nellist
Dr. R.J. Nicholls
Dr. C. Norenberg
Dr. J.P. Northover+
Prof. K.A.Q. O’Reilly
Prof. M. Pasta
Prof. J.B. Pethica+
Prof. K. Porfyrakis
Prof. R.C. Reed
Prof. S.G. Roberts
Mr. C.J. Salter

Prof. G.D.W. Smith+
Prof. J.M. Smith
Prof. S.C. Speller
Dr C. Sweeney
Prof. J.M. Sykes+
Dr. E.K.R. Tarleton
Dr. A.O. Taylor*
Prof. J.M. Titchmarsh+
Prof. R. I. Todd
Prof. J.H. Warner
Dr. P.J. Warren
Prof. A.A.R. Watt
Prof. M.J. Whelan+
Prof. A.J. Wilkinson
Dr. S.M. Wilkinson
Prof. P.R. Wilshaw
Prof. J.R. Yates
Dr. N.P. Young

Associate Members: Dr. B. Gabrys, Dr. M. Telling, Prof. L. Bogani, Prof S. Newbury

* Chairman & Secretary
^ these individuals are on the committee as representatives nominated by other Faculties.
+ these individuals are non-active and do not receive papers

Minutes to: Academic Officer, MPLSD and Deputy Administrator (Academic), Materials.

Constitution of Faculty of Materials


The Faculty of Materials is comprised of members of the Department of Materials and from other Departments on nomination. The Faculty of Materials is assigned to the Division of Mathematics, Physical and Life Sciences.

Eligibility for membership of Faculty is defined in the University Statutes


  • Chairman by election annually from the eligible members of the faculty (not the HoD)
  • Meets once each term
  • Quorum is 10
  • Deputy Administrator (Academic) in attendance
  • Director of Studies acts as Secretary
  • Notify its decisions to the Secretary of Faculties and Academic Registrar1 and the Divisional Office

1 Council Regulations 18 of 2002

Functions of the Committee

The Faculty has

i. responsibility for all academic matters that require changes to Examination Regulations, and for making proposals to the relevant divisional or faculty board on matters relating to the academic activities within the Faculty.
ii. oversight of all academic matters that do not require changes to Examination Regulations, including the provision and delivery of teaching in all its forms and at all levels, and the recruitment, admission and induction of undergraduate and postgraduate studen ts, the responsibility for which it delegates to the Departmental Academic Committee. The Departmental Academic Committee shall inform the Faculty of all its decisions on these matters.

Policy on Conflict of Interest

Members of Faculty are asked to declare at the start of a meeting any agenda items on which they feel they have a conflict of interest.

Minutes of Meetings

  • These are circulated to members only.