<< <  Page 6 of 8  > >>

IFES Fellow 2015

2nd October 2015

George Smith elected first IFES Fellow

The International Field Emission Society have elected Professor George Smith FRS as the first IFES Fellow in recognition of his outstanding impact on the world of atom probe and also in recognition of his distinguished service to the society. The award will be presented at the Atom Probe Tomography & Microscopy 2016 (55th IFES) meeting in Gyungju, Korea, which will be held the week of 12th June 2016.

Sergio Lozano-Perez

1st October 2015

Sergio Lozano-Perez receives Lee Hsun lecture award

Congratulations to Professor Sergio Lozano-Perez on being awarded the "LEE HSUN Young scientist Lecture Series on Materials Science" award, by the Institute of Metal Research (Chinese Academy of Science). 

Professor Kirkland

29th September 2015

Professor Angus Kirkland awarded Harald Rose Prize

Professor Angus Kirkland has been awarded the 2015 Harald Rose Prize and Distinguished Lecture for his experimental and theoretical work on image formation and image restoration. The award was presented at Microscopy Conference 2015 in Göttingen.

Sergio Lozano-Perez

1st August 2015

Recognition of Distinction Award

Congratulations to Sergio Lozano-Perez who has been awarded the title of Professor in the recent Recognition of Distinction exercise for his outstanding contributions to research and teaching in the university.

Lapo Bogani

11th July 2015

Oliver Kahn Laureate 2015 Lapo Bogani

Many congratulations to Dr Lapo Bogani, who has been selected for the Olivier Kahn Laureate Award, having impressed the judges with his multi-doctrinal research. It is a prestigious award which is widely respected in the scientific community. The award will be presented to Lapo during the ECMM2015 meeting in Zaragoza in September.

GreenImpact Awards 2015

21st June 2015

GreenImpact Gold and Silver

The University’ Green Impact awards ceremony was held on Wednesday 17 June, and Materials achieved two awards; Silver for the Department and Gold for the Labs! We were one of two Departments within the entire scheme to be presented with two awards, so this is a huge achievement!

Carlos Rios Ocampo

29th May 2015

Carlos Rios Ocampo award at INC11

Congratulations to Carlos Rios Ocampo in Professor Harish Bhaskaran’s Advanced Nanoscale Engineering research group, for winning the Best Poster Award at the INC11 Conference in Fukuoka, Japan with his poster on "Growth and Nucleation Dominated Phase-Change Materials for Nano-Optoelectronics and Display Technology".

The International Nanotechnology Conference on Communication and Cooperation is big conference pulling together industry, academic and government partners, especially from Europe Japand and USA, and Carlos was competing for the European award against a large number of high calibre applicants.  

David Armstrong

27th April 2015

David Armstrong awarded IoM3 Grunfield Memorial Award and Medal

Congratulations to Dr David Armstrong, who has won the IoM3’s prestigious Grunfeld Memorial award and medal.
The award is made biennially in recognition of a professional contribution that has had a significant influence on the engineering application of components made from any alloys in the metallurgical industries.

Peiman Hosseini

4th April 2015

Peiman Hosseini selected for RAEng entrepreneur training

Dr Peiman Hosseini in the Nanoscale Engineering group was one of four people selected for intensive entrepreneur training by the RAEng (RAEng ERA Foundation Entrepreneurs' Award) and awarded £2000.

"Wearable technologies are making a big impact in society – beginning to blur the boundary between human and machine. This market is set to be worth $12.6 billion by 2018. The next generation of lightweight, high performance machines will rely on technologies that are capable of bringing the user as close to a device as possible. Dr Hosseini has created the first reported nano-display device that uses both optical and electronic property modulation in Phase Change Materials. An entirely new class of ultra-thin, ultra-high resolution displays with nanosecond access speed and no power consumption in static mode is now under development by his team. This revolutionary display will initially target the rapidly growing microdisplay market compact, projection-based displays used in emerging near-eye applications like Google Glass. The first prototypes are currently under development, with a small working device set to be ready within the next 12 months."

TATA Steel Prize 2014

10th February 2015

Armourers and Brasiers' Company / TATA Steel Prize awarded to Stephen Turrell

On the 5th February 2015 the Armourers and Brasiers' Company / TATA Steel Prize for best overall performance in Prelims practicals was awarded to Stephen Turrell of St Catherine's College by Chris McDonald (CEO, Materials Processing Institute) on behalf of TATA Steel.

<< <  Page 6 of 8  > >>