Older News


Dec 2000

Mrs Denise Faulkner joins the Department as Deputy Administrator in charge of Finance and Begbroke

Mrs Jenny Standen the Head of Department secretary retired, being replaced by Mrs Harriet Fishman

Oct 2000

Prof. George Smith FRS takes over as Head of Department

Prof. Brian Cantor FREng. takes over as Head of Division of Mathematical and Physical Sciences

New managerial system for the Department implemented

Undergraduate teaching laboratories reopened after renovation

Sept 2000

£ 2.1M Faraday Partnership in Automotive and Aerospace Materials awarded to a consortium coordinated by OCAMAC

Aug 2000

Alfred Cerezo, Patrick Grant, Mike Jenkins and Steve Roberts all awarded Readerships

Official naming ceremony of the Hirsch and Christian buildings at the Oxford University Begbroke Science Park

July 2000

Visiting Professorship in Materials awarded to Dr. Chris Peel from DERA (Qinetiq/DSDL)

June 2000

Launch of Oxford University Begbroke Science Park (OUBSP) by Lord Sainsbury, Minister of Science and Technology, and Graeme Handley, Chief Executive of Cherwell District Council, hosted by the Vice Chancellor.

May 2000

Tiffany Walsh wins Glasstone Fellowship

Jeremy Sloan and Rafal Dunin-Borkowski win Royal Society University Research Fellowships

Geoff Grime and Peter Northover appointed University Research Lecturers

Institute of Materials Course Accreditation Review

10 yearly Review of the Department by the University

April 2000

The Times judges Oxford Materials Department as best in UK

AEA Advanced Materials Centre opened at Oxford University Begbroke Science Park. (Welcome to Alison Crossley, Ruth Harper and others)

Mar 2000

Keyna O'Reilly and Angus Wilkinson appointed as new lecturers.

Alumni Association Committee Meeting

Feb 2000

Jeremy Sloan wins EPSRC Advanced Fellowship

Stephen Timms, Financial Secretary at the Treasury, visits Begbroke

Launch of New JEOL microprobe purchased on £0.65M JREI grant.

Launch of Nanox Ltd., a new spinout company at Begbroke

Jan 2000

Brian Cantor appointed head of the new Mathematical and Physical Sciences Division, one of the five new academic divisions of the University

David Cockayne arrives from the University of Sydney to take up the new Chair in Physical Examination of Materials

Launch of Oxford Innovation's Begbroke Business Incubator by the Vice Chancellor and Graeme Handley, Chief Executive of Cherwell District Council

Dec 1999

Keyna O'Reilly wins £0.75m JREI grant awarded to purchase squeeze caster in collaboration with Luxfer

AEA Technology Advanced Materials Centre launched, by setting up microstructural characterisation unit at Begbroke

Minister of Science, Lord Sainsbury accepts VC's invitation to open new Begbroke site officially on Friday 16 June 2000

Brian Eyre appointed Chairman of CLRC, running the Daresbury and Rutherford Appleton Laboratories

Nov 1999

New £0.7m JEOL microprobe and new £0.7m FIB equipment installed, each under JREI grants

Oct 1999

David Pettifor awarded Royal Society Armourers and Brasiers Medal

Jack Christian awarded Japan Institute of Metals Gold Medal

Court of Benefactors visit to Begbroke Science and Business Park

Higher Studies Fund visit to Begbroke Science and Business Park

June 1999

David Cockayne and John Pethica elected as Fellows of the Royal Society

Brian Cantor elected to the Academia Europia

Andrew Briggs awarded personal professorship, and John Hutchison, Amanda Petford-Long and John Sykes awarded personal readerships

Paul Warren takes up Lecturership in Materials Processing

May 1999

David Bucknall takes up Lecturership in Polymers

Mr Takeuchi (Chairman of JEOL) and Professor Sue Iverson (Pro VC Research) launch new £1.1m FEGTEM

Brian Cantor and others awarded £7.8m JIF grant to install new cutting edge equipment for atomic engineering and analysis at Begbroke

George Smith appointed to RAE and Foresight Panels