Page 1 of 8  > >>

TATA Steel Prize 2017

5th February 2018

TATA Steel Prize awarded to Georgina Mordue

On the 1st February 2018 the TATA Steel Prize for best overall performance in Part I practicals (MS & MEM) was awarded to Georgina Mordue of Trinity College by Byron Tucker, Technology Centre Manager at Tata Steel in Europe.

Prelims Practicals Prize 2017

5th February 2018

Prelims Practicals Prize 2017

On the 1st February 2018 the Armourers and Brasiers' Company / TATA Steel Prize for best overall performance in Prelims practicals 2017 was awarded to Xu Shi of Mansfield College by Byron Tucker, Technology Centre Manager at Tata Steel in Europe.

11th December 2017

Royal Society Industry Fellow Summer Students Poster Prize

1st year undergraduate Brooke Lear was awarded the 1st Prize for her poster and presentation entitled "Nanomaterial Building Blocks for Thermal Management in Motorsports" at the Industry College Event held at the Royal Society in London on 24 November 2017. The judges also gave special mention to 4th year undergraduate, Matthew Robson, because of his clear and concise dissemination of the work on "Developing next generation coolants". Both Brooke and Matt conducted their 10-week Royal Society-funded summer placement at the Nanomaterials by Design Team based at the Begbroke Science Park working with Professor Nicole Grobert.

Prof Nicole Grobert

20th October 2017

Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry

Professor Nicole Grobert has recently been admitted by Council to the Royal Society of Chemistry as a Fellow. The FRSC title is given to people who "have made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of the chemical sciences; or to the advancement of the chemical sciences as a profession; or have been distinguished in the management of a chemical sciences organisation”.

Professor Grobert’s research focuses on the design and manufacture of speciality nanomaterials. Several scientific breakthroughs in the controlled production of these materials led to further developments that have been made through multiple proof-of-concept projects. Professor Grobert’s current Royal Society Industry Fellowship at Williams Advanced Engineering enables enhanced collaborations with industry partners to develop new nanomaterials with for target applications in high performance motors, nanocomposites, batteries, multifunctional lightweight structures.

Examples of Nicole’s work are the University’s features on defect-free graphene and faster and larger graphene, and articles by MPLS Division.  

Points of Light Award

20th October 2017

Points of Light award for Clara Barker

Congratulations to Clara Barker, for receiving a Points of Light award from the Prime Minister.  In Theresa May’s own words:

‘Your tireless volunteer work with LGBT+ groups across Oxford is educating young people and members of the public in the importance of diversity and different identities. You are a positive role model for the community and you should be proud of your ongoing work in transgender education and support.’

A longer new article is available from MPLS website including an interview.


20th October 2017

Goldschmidt Early Career Researcher Poster Prize

The poster 'Atom probe tomography of Carlin type gold mineralisation', authored by P. Gopon, M.A. Auger, L.J. Robb, M.P. Moody and J. Wade has been awarded a Goldschmidt Early Career Researcher Poster Prize by The Mineralogical Society and The Natural Environment Research Council.
This collaboration, between researchers from the Department of Earth Science and from the Atom Probe group at the Department of Materials ,has been selected among those presented in the Goldschmidt session 18d mineralogy and geochemistry of metal deposits and secondary sources, and their mineral processing, hydrometallurgy and biotechnologies, as part of the Goldschmidt Conference held on 13-18 August in Paris.

Tom Scott

20th October 2017

IoM3 Davidge Award 2017

Many congratulations to Tom Scott (a member of the Ceramics Group) for winning the 2017 Davidge Award of the IoM3. The Davidge Award is an annual worldwide prizes for the best literature review by a PhD student on an innovative topic in ceramics.
Tom will receive a certificate, £500, and his winning review, ‘polycrystalline diamond’, will be published in the IoM3 ceramics journal ‘Advances in Applied Ceramics’.

19th October 2017

David Armstrong appointed Associate Professor

David Armstrong, currently a RAEng Fellow in the department, has been appointed to the new Associate Professorship in Materials, jointly with Corpus Christi College from 1st October 2017. Professor Armstrong is an expert in the micromechanical properties of materials, with a focus on materials for the most demanding environments, including Ni superalloys, steels, refractory alloys and ceramic-ceramic composites.

GADEST Best Young Scientists

13th October 2017

GADEST2017 Best Young Scientist Awards

Congratulations to Eleanor Shaw and Gabrielle Bourret-Sicotte for each winning one of the three Best Young Scientist
awards offered by the Gettering and Defect Engineering in Semiconductor Technology (GADEST 2017) Conference.

Eleanor and Gabrielle (of the Semiconductor And Silicon Photovoltaics Group) won the prizes for their oral presentations on
Saw Damage Gettering for industrially relevant mc-Si feedstock” and "Shielded hydrogen passivation – a novel method for
introducing hydrogen into silicon" respectively.

IoP Phillips Award 2016 to Mark Telling

30th September 2017

Vice-President of the Institute of Physics

Many congratulations to Dr Mark Telling CPhys FInstP, who is a visitor and lecturer in the Department, on his election as Vice-President of the Institute of Physics. Mark will take up his position on the IoP Council on 1st October 2017 for a four year term.

Mark received the Phillips Award last year, in recognition of his work developing the IoP’s career development strategies, and for championing the IoP for Africa initiative.

More recently, Mark provided the IoP’s London offices as a venue for the Women in Materials Science Career Pathways event during June 2017, and is the architect of the national 3 Minute Wonder competition.

Page 1 of 8  > >>