<< <  Page 7 of 8  > >>

Peter Bruce

30th January 2015

Peter Bruce awarded International Medal

Professor Peter G Bruce FRS, Wolfson Professor of Materials, has been selected to receive the International Medal for Materials Science and Technology by the Materials Research Society of India. The immediate past recipient was Sir Richard Friend FRS. Professor Bruce is travelling to Jaipur in February in order to receive the award and deliver the Award Lecture.

IDTechEx awards

19th November 2014

Bhaskaran and Hosseini win IDTechEx award

IDTechEx Printed Electronics USA 2014 Award for Academic R&D was awarded to Prof Harish Bhaskaran and Dr Peiman Hosseini for the world’s first ultra-thin, flexible display technology, based on phase change materials (PCM).

Phase change materials such as Ge2Sb2Te5 (GST) can reversibly switch between two solid states, amorphous and crystalline, in response to an electrically or optically induced stimulus. This switching is always associated with a change in the physical properties of the material (such as the refractive index). PCM have already played a key role in enabling data storage on inexpensive plastic substrates using optical pulses (e.g. CV, DVD, Blu-Ray).

Prof Bhaskaran has demonstrated the key technology for ultra-high resolution displays using a 7nm thin film of phase change materials. This was the subject of a recent publication (Nature 511,206–211(10 July 2014)) and several patent applications. It is the first and only reported display device that utilizes the combination of both optical and electronic property modulation in PCMs.   (Also see publication news item in July 2014)

Professors Warner, Benjamin and Guistino

30th October 2014

Recognition of Distinction Awards

Congratulations to Simon Benjamin, Feliciano Giustino and Jamie Warner who have been awarded the title of Professor in the recent Recognition of Distinction exercise for their outstanding contributions to research and teaching in the university.

Takashi Lawson Prize Award

23rd October 2014

Johnson Matthey Prize 2014

The prize for best performance in Prelims Examiniations in 2014 was presented to Takashi Lawson by Dr Mark Copley of Johnson Matthey at an industrial seminar on Thursday 23rd October.

Peter Bruce

13th September 2014

Peter Bruce awarded RSC Geoffrey Barker Medal

Professor Peter Bruce  FRS FRSE FRSC has been awarded the Royal Society of Chemistry Geoffrey Barker Medal for his outstanding contributions in the field of Electrochemistry. The medal was presented at the Electrochem 2014 conference on 9th September 2014.


James Marrow receiving ESIS award

5th September 2014

James Marrow awarded ESIS Fellowship

Professor James Marrow has been awarded the ESIS Fellowship by the European Structural Integrity Society. This highly regarded Fellowship was awarded during the 20th European Conference of Fracture in Trondheim, Norway, which took place during 30 June to 4 July 2014.

Luis Saucedo Mora recieving award

5th September 2014

ESIS/Elsevier Young Scientist award

Dr Luis Saucedo-Mora was awarded the European Structural Integrity Society/Elsevier Young Scientist Award 2014 in recognition of his winning paper “3D Cellular Automata Finite Element Method with Explicit Microstructure: Modelling Quasi-brittle Fracture using Meshfree Damage Propagation”(L. Saucedo-Mora and T. J. Marrow) presented at the 20th European Conference of Fracture in Trondheim, Norway, which took place during 30 June to 4 July 2014.

Kate and Tim beside winning posters

7th July 2014

Two winners at MMC2014

Congratulations to Kate MacArthur who won 1st prize in the Physical Sciences category, and Tim Pennycook won 2nd prize at the The Microscience Microscopy Congress 2014.

Rebecca Nicholls

2nd July 2014

Fellowship in Materials for Energy Applications

The Department congratulates Dr Rebecca Nicholls who has just started an EPSRC Fellowship.  Rebecca won the 5-year EPSRC Fellowship to enable breakthroughs in energy materials using advanced microscopy and modelling.


Green Impact Bronze

18th June 2014

Green Impact Bronze Award Winners!

On Wednesday 18th June, the Department of Materials was awarded Bronze in the Green Impact award scheme run by the National Union of Students.

Green Impact is an environmental accreditation scheme to give recognition for the sustainable initiatives as well as providing ideas and support for becoming even more sustainable. Twenty departmental teams at the University of Oxford have signed up to the scheme, which now covers over 3000 members of staff.

<< <  Page 7 of 8  > >>