<< <  Page 3 of 9  > >>


9th August 2017

M&M2017 Eric Samuel Memorial Scholarship

Congratulations to Dr Lewys Jones for winning the Eric Samuel Memorial Scholarship Prize during the Microsocopy & Microanalysis Conference on 7th August in St Louis, Missouri.  Lewys' award winning work was "Mapping the chemistry within, and the strain around, Al-alloy preciptiates at atomic resolution by multi-frame scanning transmission electron microscopy'.

Jesus Acapulco with Professor Shigeo Maruyama (GMSI Program Leader and pioneer in Nanotube research) on the left.

4th August 2017

GMSI-GSDM Best Presentation

Jesus Acapulco (winner of the 2017 Hetherington Prize), selected for the Graduate Program for Mechanical Systems Innovation (GMSI) and the Global Leader program for Social Design and Management (GSDM) at The University of Tokyo, wins award for Best Presentation at the 2017 GMSI-GSDM Summer Camp, Heritage Resort Saitama, Japan on 30 July 2017.

26th July 2017

Piontelli Prize 2017

Congratulations to Prof Mauro Pasta who has been awarded the Piontelli Prize which is given every two years to a scientist (aged 40 or younger) for their scientific and technological contributions in the field of electrochemistry (corrosion, electrochemical energy storage/conversion, electrode processes). It was awarded in the presence of the President of Italy, Sergio Mattarella, during the assembly of the Accademia dei Lincei, at Palazzo Corsini in Rome.

Find out a little more about Mauro’s research on electrochemical energy storage and conversion by watching a short research presentation given at the St Edmund Hall Research Expo earlier this year.

26th July 2017

Royal Society Hughes Medal 2017

Congratulations to Prof Peter Bruce FRS who has been awarded The Royal Society Hughes Medal in recognition of his work elucidating the fundamental chemistry underpinning energy storage.

Professor Bruce will receive a medal, and a gift of £2,000 at the Society’s Anniversary Day meeting on 30 November 2017.

Green Impact 2017

14th June 2017

Green Impact awards 2017

On 12 June 2017 the University of Oxford held the annual NUS Green Impact Awards presentations in the Sheldonian Theatre.  The Department of Materials was awarded 'Silver' for general environmental practices, 'Silver' for the labs.  Congratulations to the Committee for their tireless work throughout the year raising awareness and implementing new schemes to promote sustainability.

Best Part II talk Presentation

12th June 2017

Best MS Part II Project Presentation 2017

The winner of this year's Worshipful Company of Ironmongers Prize for Best Part II talk is Tabitha Jones for her talk "Conducting polymer percolation networks for gas sensing".  All 31 Part II students presented their work at a mini-symposium on 4th and 5th of May, and then the winner, Tabitha Jones, gave her talk again in London at the Worshipful Company of Ironmongers on 8th June when she was presented with a medal and £450 prize.

Iliya Rasovic

28th April 2017

IOM3 2017 Young Persons Lecture Competition

Many congratulations to Ilija Rasovic for winning the UK National Young Persons Lecture Competition 2017

Ilija had to win two regional heats before taking part in the national this Wednesday at the Armourers’ Hall in London (the headquarters of The Worshipful Company of Armourers’ & Brasiers). This prestigious national competition is organised by IoM3, and Ilija is pictured above with his medal and two of the judging panel.

It was a gruelling competition which featured 5 other high quality finalists with a similar pedigree of achievement within regional heats. Not only is Ilija the 2017 winner for the entire UK for his talk ‘Making the World’s Most Expensive Material’, he will also go on to represent the UK in the international Young Persons World Lecture Competition in Perth Australia this October.

Interface selection in 3D atomprobe data

25th April 2017

IoM3 Cook/Ablett Award 2017

Congratulations to Dr Tomas Martin and co-authors in the Atomprobe Group on being awarded the IoM3 Cook/Ablett Award for published work of particular merit in the field of metals.  The award winning paper is  "Insights into microstructural interfaces in aerospace alloys characterised by atom probe tomography"  T. L. Martin, A. Radecka, L. Sun, T. Simm, D. Dye, K. Perkins, B. Gault, M. P. Moody & P. A. J. Bagot Materials Science & Technology, Vol 32, Iss 3 (2017) pp 232-241

Lapo Bogani

24th April 2017

Associate Professorship for Lapo Bogani

Congratulations to Lapo Bogani who has been awarded the title Associate Professor by the University in recognition of his contributions to research, teaching and citizenship. Lapo studies the magnetic and electronic properties of materials at the nanoscale, with particular attention to molecular systems, and how they can lead to multifunctional quantum materials and to nanoscale electronic devices.

TMS poster

14th March 2017

George Smith: 2017 William Hume-Rothery Award

Many members of the Materials Department went to the TMS Annual Meeting in San Diego last week at which Professor George Smith received the 2017 William Hume-Rothery Award.  This award was given in recognition of “leadership and vision in development of advanced Atom Probe instruments and their application in improving understanding of atomic scale processes in metallurgical transformations”. 

In his opening lecture George gave a lively and informative history of the development of the field ion microscope and atom probe, both at Oxford and elsewhere, before the symposium in his honour showcased the latest results and developments in the field by a range of leading figures.

<< <  Page 3 of 9  > >>