<< <  Page 2 of 8  > >>

Prof Feliciano Giustino

15th September 2017

Prof Giustino elected Upson Visiting Professor at Cornell

Professor Feliciano Giustino has been elected the Mary Shepard B. Upson Visiting Professor in Engineering at Cornell University for Fall 2017 through Spring 2018. Prof. Giustino will be visiting the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Cornell for collaborative work with faculty and students, and will deliver a Summer school on ab-initio computational materials modelling within PARADIM, the NSF Platform for the Accelerated Realization, Analysis, and Discovery of Interface Materials led by Prof. Darrell Schlom.

Professor Michael Moody

7th September 2017

Recognition of Distinction Awards 2017

Under the university’s recent recognition of distinction exercise 2017, Michael Moody has been awarded full title of Professor of Materials. Professor Moody leads the the Atom Probe Group which develops and applies the microscopy techniques of atom probe tomography (APT) and field ion microscopy (FIM) across a broad range of different material systems. APT is a technique capable of material characterisations at the atomic-scale, in which each atom is identified chemically and located in three-dimensions with very high accuracy.

Prof Roger Reed

5th September 2017

Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering

Congratulations to Professor Roger Reed on being elected Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering. Roger is a world leader in the engineering and science of high-temperature alloys, particularly the design and processing of nickel superalloys, which are ubiquitous in the aero-engine and power-generation industries. His sustained efforts in process modelling have been instrumental in the impact on industrial practice. 


1st September 2017

M&M2017 Student Scholar Award

Many congratulations to Yi-Sheng Chen for winning the Microscopy & Microanalysis 2017 Student Scholar Award during this year’s conference in St Louis. Yi-Sheng’s winning paper is 'Simplifying observation of hydrogen trapping in atom probe
tomography' and deals with designing state-of-the-art methods requiring no instrumental modification in commercial atom probe, but still allowing hydrogen observation in atomic scale. This could make atom probe become a standard technique in hydrogen-inmetal study, and thus have a significant impact in both hydrogen and atom probe communities.


9th August 2017

M&M2017 Eric Samuel Memorial Scholarship

Congratulations to Dr Lewys Jones for winning the Eric Samuel Memorial Scholarship Prize during the Microsocopy & Microanalysis Conference on 7th August in St Louis, Missouri.  Lewys' award winning work was "Mapping the chemistry within, and the strain around, Al-alloy preciptiates at atomic resolution by multi-frame scanning transmission electron microscopy'.

Jesus Acapulco with Professor Shigeo Maruyama (GMSI Program Leader and pioneer in Nanotube research) on the left.

4th August 2017

GMSI-GSDM Best Presentation

Jesus Acapulco (winner of the 2017 Hetherington Prize), selected for the Graduate Program for Mechanical Systems Innovation (GMSI) and the Global Leader program for Social Design and Management (GSDM) at The University of Tokyo, wins award for Best Presentation at the 2017 GMSI-GSDM Summer Camp, Heritage Resort Saitama, Japan on 30 July 2017.

26th July 2017

Piontelli Prize 2017

Congratulations to Prof Mauro Pasta who has been awarded the Piontelli Prize which is given every two years to a scientist (aged 40 or younger) for their scientific and technological contributions in the field of electrochemistry (corrosion, electrochemical energy storage/conversion, electrode processes). It was awarded in the presence of the President of Italy, Sergio Mattarella, during the assembly of the Accademia dei Lincei, at Palazzo Corsini in Rome.

Find out a little more about Mauro’s research on electrochemical energy storage and conversion by watching a short research presentation given at the St Edmund Hall Research Expo earlier this year.

26th July 2017

Royal Society Hughes Medal 2017

Congratulations to Prof Peter Bruce FRS who has been awarded The Royal Society Hughes Medal in recognition of his work elucidating the fundamental chemistry underpinning energy storage.

Professor Bruce will receive a medal, and a gift of £2,000 at the Society’s Anniversary Day meeting on 30 November 2017.

Green Impact 2017

14th June 2017

Green Impact awards 2017

On 12 June 2017 the University of Oxford held the annual NUS Green Impact Awards presentations in the Sheldonian Theatre.  The Department of Materials was awarded 'Silver' for general environmental practices, 'Silver' for the labs.  Congratulations to the Committee for their tireless work throughout the year raising awareness and implementing new schemes to promote sustainability.

Best Part II talk Presentation

12th June 2017

Best MS Part II Project Presentation 2017

The winner of this year's Worshipful Company of Ironmongers Prize for Best Part II talk is Tabitha Jones for her talk "Conducting polymer percolation networks for gas sensing".  All 31 Part II students presented their work at a mini-symposium on 4th and 5th of May, and then the winner, Tabitha Jones, gave her talk again in London at the Worshipful Company of Ironmongers on 8th June when she was presented with a medal and £450 prize.

<< <  Page 2 of 8  > >>